Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC NOW - Shostakovich, Arutiunian, Haydn, Tchaikovsky

The BBC NOW under Ben Gernon. Shostakovich: Festive Overture. Arutiunian: Trumpet Concerto. Haydn: Trumpet Concerto in E flat (with Philippe Schartz). Tchaikovsky: Symphony No 4.

Live from Aberystwyth Arts Centre

Presented by Nicola Heywood Thomas

The BBC National Orchestra of Wales, conducted by Ben Gernon, performs Tchaikovsky's 4th Symphony plus trumpet concertos by Haydn and Arutiunian with soloist Philippe Schartz.

Shostakovich: Festive Overture, Op. 96
Arutiunian: Trumpet Concerto

7.55 Interval - Music from Wales for brass band

Haydn: Trumpet Concerto in E flat
Tchaikovsky: Symphony no.4 in F minor, Op. 36

Philippe Schartz (trumpet)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Ben Gernon (conductor)

Philippe Schartz, Principal Trumpet with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, takes to the front of the stage as soloist in two great showcase concertos for trumpet. Armenian composer Alexander Arutiunian took advantage of the trumpet to blaze through even the grandest symphonic textures in his 1950 concerto, whilst Haydn worked for the first time with the precursor of the valve trumpet, filling in some of the notes not available on the natural trumpet. Bold brassiness takes us through the rest of the programme with Shostakovich's brilliant fanfare and Tchaikovsky's turbulent 4th Symphony, a mirror of his emotional strife at the time, with blood-curdling brass instruments ominously sounding the theme of Fate. For the composer it represents "the force of destiny which ever prevents our pursuit of happiness from reaching its goal. The exciting young British conductor Ben Gernon (himself an ex-tuba player) directs the orchestra on the first leg of their spring trip around Wales.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Alexander Arutiunian

    Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra

    Orchestra: BBC National Orchestra of Wales. Conductor: Ben Gernon.
  • William Mathias

    Vivat Regina Suite For Brass Band Op.75

    Ensemble: Black Dyke Band.
  • Gareth Wood

    Five Blooms in a Welsh Garden

    Ensemble: Britannia Building Society Band.
  • Joseph Haydn

    Concerto in E flat major for trumpet and orchestra, Hob.7e.1

    Orchestra: BBC National Orchestra of Wales. Conductor: Ben Gernon.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36

    Orchestra: BBC National Orchestra of Wales. Conductor: Ben Gernon.
  • Thomas Ravenscroft

    The Story of Three Ravens

    Ensemble: The City Waites.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    String Quartet in B flat Major

    Ensemble: Borodin Quartet.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    18 Piano Pieces Op. 72 no.2 Berceuse

    Performer: Angela Brownridge.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC National Chorus of Wales


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.