Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Concert Orchestra - Changing Britain

Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall, the BBC Concert Orchestra in music by Richard Rodney Bennett, Jonathan Dove, George Fenton, Knussen, Burgon, Weir, Tavener and Nyman.

The BBC Concert Orchestra, conductor Keith Lockhart, is at the Queen Elizabeth Hall in London as part of Southbank Centre's ongoing Changing Britain series, with music from 1979 to 1997 - shining a light on the years of Mrs Thatcher and New Labour. There's music from concert hall, stage and screen and they are joined by saxophonist Iain Ballamy in Richard Rodney Bennett's 1990 Concerto for Stan Getz, who sadly died before he could perform it. Presented by Ian Skelly.

Oliver Knussen: The Way to Castle Yonder (from the opera Higglety Pigglety Pop!)
Geoffrey Burgon: Narnia Suite - Aslan's Theme; Brideshead Revisited Theme
Richard Rodney Bennett: Concerto for Stan Getz (1990) *

INTERVAL (20 mins)

Jonathan Dove: The Ringing Isle
George Fenton: Land and Freedom Suite
Judith Weir: Music, Untangled
John Tavener: The Lamb
Michael Nyman: Strong on Oaks, Strong on the Causes of Oaks (excerpts)

*Iain Ballamy (saxophone)
BBC Concert Orchestra, conductor Keith Lockhart.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Charles Martin Loeffler

    Loeffler Divertissement Espagnol

    Performer: Amy Dickson. Orchestra: BBC Concert Orchestra. Conductor: Johannes Wildner.
    • Dutton Epoch.
  • Jules Massenet


    Performer: Truls Mørk.
  • Jules Massenet

    Overture: The King of Lahore

  • Jules Massenet

    Le Dernier Sommeil de la Vierge

  • Jules Massenet

    Entracte Sevillana from Don Cesar de Bazan


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Concert Orchestra


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.