Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Nielsen: Symphony No 4

Katie Derham presents music from the BBC Philharmonic. Elgar: Sevillana; Violin Concerto in B minor, Op 61 (soloist: Mikhail Ovrutsky). Nielsen: Symphony No 4(Inextinguishable).

The BBC Philharmonic continues its complete Nielsen symphony Cycle under the baton of John Storgards as part of Afternoon on 3's Nordic and Baltic season. Today's programme features no.4, the 'Inextinguishable'. As its composer said, "Music is life and, like it, inextinguishable." Before that, music by Elgar: his Spanish inspired Sevillana, and his lyrical Violin Concerto performed by Mikhail Otruvsky.

Presented by Katie Derham

Sevillana, Op.7
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena (conductor)

Violin Concerto in B minor, Op.61
Mikhail Ovrutsky (violin)
BBC Philharmonic
Pietari Inkinen (conductor)

Symphony No 4, Op.29 (Inextinguishable)
BBC Philharmonic
John Storgards (conductor).

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Edward Elgar

    Sevilliana Op.7

    Conductor: Juanjo Mena. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic.
  • Edward Elgar

    Violin Concerto in B minor Op.61

    Performer: Mikhail Ovrutsky. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Pietari Inkinen.
  • Carl [1865-1931] Nielsen

    Symphony no. 4 Op.29 (Inextinguishable)

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: John StorgÄrds.
  • Malcolm Arnold

    Dance of the Insects (Homage to the Queen)

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Rumon Gamba.
    • CHANDOS.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Philharmonic