Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Heath Quartet - Haydn, Janacek, Dvorak

The Heath Quartet performs at Birmingham Town Hall. Haydn: String Quartet in E flat, Op 76 No 6. Janacek: String Quartet No 1 (Kreutzer Sonata). Dvorak: String Quartet No 13 in G.

Live from Birmingham Town Hall
Presented by Martin Handley

The acclaimed and award winning Heath Quartet perform live from the historic Birmingham Town Hall, a programme of quartets from the very heart of the repertory - by Haydn, Janácek and Dvorák.

Haydn: String Quartet in E flat major, Op 76 No 6
Janácek: String Quartet No 1, The Kreutzer Sonata

8.15: Interval
Martin Handley introduces extracts from Dvorak's The Spectre's Bride which was commisisoned by Birmingham and performed in the Town Hall, conducted by the composer to great acclaim, 130 years ago.

DVORAK: The Spectred Bride
- Introduction
- Chorus "The Clock Has Chimed"
- "And Then On The Door"
- "Holy Virgin Do Stand By Me"
Ivan Kusnjer (bass)
Oksana Krovytska (soprano)
New Jersey Symphony Orchestra
Westminster Symphonic Choir
Zdek Macal (conductor)

Dvorák: String Quartet No 13 in G, Op 106

Heath Quartet:
Oliver Heath: violin
Cerys Jones: violin
Gary Pomeroy: viola
Christopher Murray: cello.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Part 1

    • Joseph Haydn

      String Quartet in E flat major, Op 76 No 6

      Ensemble: Heath Quartet.
    • Leos Janáček

      String Quartet No 1, The Kreutzer Sonata

      Ensemble: Heathe Quartet.
  • Interval

    • Antonín Dvořák

      Dramatic Cantata " The Spectre's Bride" - excerpts

      Performer: Ivan Kusnjer. Performer: Oksana Krovytska. Choir: Westminster Symphonic Choir. Orchestra: New Jersey Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Zdeněk Mácal.
      • Dvorak: Svatební Kosile, Op. 69.
      • Delos.
      • DE3296.
  • Part 2

    • Antonín Dvořák

      String Quartet No 13 in G major, Op 106

      Ensemble: Heath Quartet.
    • Hugo Wolf

      Italian Serenade

      Ensemble: Heath Quartet.
  • Post concert

    • John McCabe

      Aubade (Study no.4, 1970)

      Performer: John McCabe.
      • John McCabe - piano music.
      • BMS.
      • BMS424CD.
    • Joseph Haydn

      Keyboard Sonata no.39 in D major Hob.XVI:24

      Orchestrator: John McCabe.
      • Haydn: Complete Piano Sonatas (John McCabe).
      • Decca.
      • 4437852.


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.