Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Music from Danish and Swedish Orchestras. Sibelius: The Swan of Tuonela. Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1. Mozart: Allegro (Piano Sonata No 16). Ravel: Daphnis et Chloe Suite No 2.

In Afternoon on 3's continuing focus on concert recordings from Scandinavian radio symphony orchestras, Marc-Andre Hamelin plays Brahms' Piano Concerto No.1 with the Danish National Symphony Orchestra. Plus the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra play Sibelius's Swan of Tuonela and Ravel's Daphnis and Chloe Suite No.2.

Presented by Katie Derham.

The Swan of Tuonela, from Legends, Op.22
Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Edward Gardner (conductor)

Piano Concerto No.1 in D minor, Op.15
Marc-Andre Hamelin (piano)
Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Gustavo Gimeno (conductor)

Allegro (Piano Sonata No.16 in C major, K.545)
Marc-Andre Hamelin (piano)

Daphnis et Chloe, Suite No.2
Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Edward Gardner (conductor).

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Jean Sibelius

    Lemminkainen Legends Op. 22 - no. 2 The Swan of Tuonela

    Orchestra: Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Daniel Harding.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Piano Concerto no. 1 in D minor, Op. 15

    Performer: Marc-André Hamelin. Orchestra: Danish National Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Gustavo Gimeno.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Piano Sonata no. 16 in C major, KV 545 - 1st Movement (Allegro)

    Performer: Marc-André Hamelin.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Daphnis & Chloe - Suite no. 2

    Conductor: Edward Gardner. Orchestra: Sveriges Radios Symfoniorkester.
  • Carl Nielsen

    An Imaginary Journey to the Faroes

    Orchestra: DR SymfoniOrkestret. Conductor: Thomas Dausgaard.
    • Carl Nielsen: Orchestral music: Danish National Symphony Orch/Dausgaard.
    • Dacapo.
    • 10.