Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Simon Trpceski and Roman Simovic, Samuel and Louisa Staples, Richard Alston

Sean Rafferty with music from violinists Samuel and Louisa Staples. Plus choreographer Richard Alston on the twentieth anniversary of his dance company and pianist Simon Trpceski.

Sean Rafferty hosts a performance by talented brother and sister violinists Samuel and Louisa Staples, students at the Yehudi Menuhin School. On Sunday they have a concert at the new London venue Clapham Omnibus. And from the world of dance we have Richard Alston whose dance company, twenty this year, is at Sadler's Wells with an adaptation of Benjamin Britten's quirky cantata Rejoice in the Lamb. Choreographed by Richard, it will be danced to the singing of the Montclair State University Vocal Accord.

Also performing live in the studio is Macedonian pianist and a member of Radio 3's NGA scheme from 2001-2003 Simon Trpceski who performs alongside the London Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican in London this Sunday (25th January), playing Ravel's Piano Concerto in G major. The orchestra is lead by violinist Roman Simovic, who also joins Sean in the studio.

Main news headlines are at 5pm and 6pm.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Sergei Prokofiev

    March in Bb op.99

    Orchestra: Chamber Orchestra of Europe. Conductor: Claudio Abbado.
    • Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf: Claudio Abbado.
    • Deutsche Grammophon.
    • 1.
  • Maurice Ravel


    Performer: Roman Simovic. Performer: Simon Trpceski.
  • Francis Poulenc

    Improvisation 15 - Hommage à Edith Piaf

  • Gustav Holst

    A Moorside Suite (March)

    Ensemble: Grimethorpe Colliery Band. Conductor: Garry Cutt.
    • Brass from the Masters, Vol.2: Grimethorpe Colliery RJB Band, Parkes, Cutt.
    • Chandos.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    Grand Waltz Brillant in E flat op.18

    Music Arranger: Roy Douglas. Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Robert Irving.
    • EMI.
  • Gaetano Donizetti

    L’elisir d’amore: Una furtive lagrima

    Conductor: Nello Santi. Singer: Plácido Domingo. Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra.
    • RCA.
  • Johann David Heinichen

    Dresden Concerto in F major, S 232

    Ensemble: Musica Antiqua Köln. Director: Reinhard Goebel.
    • Heinichen: Dresden Concerti.
    • Archiv Produktion.
    • 11-13.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Sonata No.1 in G minor for solo violin - Fugue

    Performer: Samuel Staples.
  • Jean Sibelius

    Danse champetre No.3

    Performer: Louisa Staples. Performer: Svitlana Kosenko.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Six Ecossaises, WoO 83

    Performer: Alfred Brendel.
    • Philips.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Prelude from Five Pieces for Two Violins & Piano

    Performer: Samuel Staples. Performer: Louisa Staples.
  • Benjamin Britten

    Rejoice in the Lamb – Rejoice in God, O ye Tongues

    Performer: George Malcolm. Choir: The Purcell Singers. Conductor: Benjamin Britten.
    • London.
  • Franz Liszt

    ‘Dante Sonata’ – Apres une lecture de Dante

    Performer: Mikhail Pletnev.
    • DG.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios