Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Valentina Lisitsa, Katona Twins, James MacMillan

Sean Rafferty presents a lively mix of music and conversation. Includes performances from pianist Valentina Lisitsa and guitar duo the Katona Twins plus composer James MacMillan.

Sean Rafferty presents a lively mix of music and conversation, including live performances from dazzling Ukrainian-born pianist Valentina Lisitsa, in the UK to play Prokofiev's 2nd Piano Concerto with the London Symphony Orchestra. Hungarian virtuoso guitar duo the Katona Twins plays live in the studio as they prepare for a performance at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester; and one of today's most successful composers, James MacMillan discusses his opera Ines de Castro along with Olivia Fuchs who directs a new production of the work at Scottish Opera.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Manuel de Falla

    Ritual Fire Dance from El Amor Brujo

    Ensemble: Katona Twins.
  • Erik Chisholm

    Concerto no. 1 (Piobaireachd) for piano and orchestra: 2nd movement

    Performer: Danny Driver. Conductor: Rory MacDonald. Orchestra: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.
    • Chisholm: Piano Concerto No 1 'Piobaireachd' and Piano Concerto No 2 'Hindustani.
    • Hyperion.
    • 2.
  • Isaac Albéniz

    Suite espanola no. 1: Asturias

    Ensemble: Katona Twins.
  • Katona Twins

    Scarlatti’s Metamorphosis

    Ensemble: Katona Twins.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    12 Etudes op.10: no. 8

    Performer: Valentina Lisitsa.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Le Nozze di Figaro - (K.492), Act 2, no.11; Voi, che sapete ...

    Singer: Magdalena Kožená. Orchestra: Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle.
    • 111 Years Of Deutsche Grammophon The Collector's Edition Vol.2.
    • Deutsche Grammophon.
    • 2.
  • Sir Hamilton Harty

    A John Field Suite (Polka)

    Orchestra: Ulster Orchestra. Conductor: Bryden Thomson.
    • Harty: A John Field Suite: Ulster Orchestra/Bryden Thomson.
    • Chandos.
    • 1.
  • Hector Berlioz

    Benvenuto Cellini (Overture)

    Orchestra: Staatskapelle Dresden. Conductor: Colin Davis.
    • RCA.
  • Scriabin

    2 Impromptus, Op.14: No.2

    Performer: Valentina Lisitsa.
  • Claudio Monteverdi

    Quinto Libro di Madrigali: Sfogava con le stelle

    Choir: Les Arts Florissants. Conductor: Paul Agnew.
    • Les Arts Florissants Editions.
  • Joseph Haydn

    String Quartet op.54 no.3: last mvt

    Ensemble: Sacconi Quartet.
  • Trad.

    Le retour di fils soldat

    Ensemble: Le Vent du Nord.
  • Philip Glass

    An Unwelcome Friend

    Performer: Valentina Lisitsa.
  • Earl Wild

    7 Virtuoso etudes after Gershwin for piano: no.7 The Man I Love

    Performer: Ji Liu.
  • Sir James MacMillan

    O Radiant Dawn (from the Strathclyde Motets)

    Choir: The Sixteen. Conductor: Harry Christophers.
    • CORO.
  • William Boyce

    Symphony No 2 in A major

    Orchestra: The English Concert. Conductor: Trevor Pinnock.
    • Archiv.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios