Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC SO and Chorus - Rachmaninov, Nielsen, Busoni

From the Barbican, BBC Symphony Orchestra and Chorus under Sakari Oramo. Rachmaninov: Spring Cantata. Nielsen: Symphony No 2. Busoni: Piano Concerto in C (with Garrick Ohlsson).

Live from the Barbican
Presented by Petroc Trelawny

BBC Symphony Orchestra & Chorus with Sakari Oramo: Rachmaninov's Spring Cantata and Nielsen's 2nd Symphony. Garrick Ohlsson joins them for Busoni's gargantuan Piano Concerto.

Rachmaninov: Spring Cantata
Nielsen: Symphony no.2 'The Four Temperaments' FS29, Op.16

8.25pm Interval: Schoenberg's Friede auf Erden (Peace on Earth) - a setting of a text by Swiss writer Conrad Ferdinand Meyer - is performed here by the BBC Singers and conductor David Hill. Plus the ensemble Diabolicus with Erwin Stein's arrangement of Busoni's Berceuse Elegiaque.
Busoni: Concerto for Piano in C major K247 Op.39

Igor Golovatenko (baritone)
Garrick Ohlsson (piano)
BBC Symphony Chorus
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sakari Oramo (conductor)

In Nielsen's Second Symphony, The Four Temperaments, we feel the full force of the mature composer's vision. Taking the medieval idea of the 'four humours' of the human constitution, Nielsen constructs a drama of vivid contrasts, from impetuous violence of the first 'choleric' movement to the irresistible dancing breeziness of the 'sanguine' finale. In between comes a 'melancholy' Andante of majestic expressive power, worthy of Rachmaninov, whose consoling cantata Spring opens the concert, performed with baritone Igor Golovatenko and BBC Symphony Chorus. The male chorus joins American master-pianist Garrick Ohlsson for Busoni's extraordinary concerto, once called 'a hymn to immoderation'.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Ferruccio

    Piano Concerto Op.39

    Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sakari Oramo.
  • Carl Nielsen

    Symphony no. 2 Op.16 (The Four temperaments)

    Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sakari Oramo.
  • Rachmaninov,

    Spring Cantata - cantata Op.20

    Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sakari Oramo.
  • Arnold Schoenberg

    Friede auf Erden, Op. 13

    Choir: BBC Singers. Conductor: David Hill.
  • Ferruccio Busoni

    Berceuse elegiaque, Op. 42, (arr. Erwin Stein)

    Music Arranger: Erwin Stein. Ensemble: Diabolicus. Conductor: Dietrich Henschel.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Symphony Chorus
Performer BBC Symphony Orchestra


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.