Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC SSO - Beethoven, Bruch, Tchaikovsky

BBC SSO/Martyn Brabbins and Jack Liebeck (violin). Beethoven: Coriolan Overture. Bruch: Violin Concerto No 2. Bruch: Konzertstuck. Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture.

Live from City Halls, Glasgow

Presented by Jamie MacDougall

The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and regular collaborator Martyn Brabbins are joined by soloist Jack Liebeck to explore some of Max Bruch's lesser-known works for violin and orchestra: his Violin Concerto No. 2 and Konzertstück. Both works are as full of passion and melody as the famous First Concerto, and sure to come to life under such dedicated interpreters.

And the evening is framed by two stalwart works of the concert platform which have dramatic geneses: Beethoven's pulsating overture 'Coriolan' written for a German play concerning that Roman leader; and Tchaikovsky's Shakespearean Fantasy-Overture 'Romeo and Juliet'.

Beethoven: Coriolan Overture
Bruch: Violin Concerto no. 2

8.10 Interval

Bruch: Konzertstück Op. 84
Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet

Jack Liebeck (violin)
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Martyn Brabbins (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Max Bruch

    Violin Concerto no.2 in D minor

  • Max Bruch

    Konzertstuck for Violin & Orchestra

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Coriolan Overture

  • Darius Milhaud


    Performer: Robin Tritschler (tenor), Malcolm Martineau (piano).
  • Darius Milhaud


    Performer: Robin Tritschler (tenor), Malcolm Martineau (piano).
  • Giuseppe Tartini

    Sonata in G minor for Violin & Piano "Devil's Trill"

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Fantasy Overture "Romeo & Juliet"

  • O. Ullmann

    Sonata no.7

    Performer: Christophe Sirodeau (piano).


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.