Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Philharmonic - Colin Matthews, Schubert, Beethoven

From Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, BBC Philharmonic under Juanjo Mena. Colin Matthews: Grand Barcarolle. Schubert: Symphony No 2. Beethoven: Violin Concerto (with Simone Lamsma).

Juanjo Mena conducts the BBC Philharmonic in Colin Matthews's Grand Barcarolle and Schubert's Second Symphony. They are joined by Simone Lamsma for a performance of Beethoven's Violin Concerto.

Live from the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester
Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Colin Matthews: Grand Barcarolle
Schubert: Symphony No 2

8:15 Interval
Beethoven: Violin Sonata in A, Op 30 No 1
Renaud Capuçon
Frank Braley

Beethoven: Violin Concerto n D, Op 61

Simone Lamsma (violin)
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena (conductor)

Beethoven's Violin Concerto, in which Simone Lamsma joins Juanjo Mena and the BBC Philharmonic, features in the second half of this evening's concert. It is preceded by two works inspired by Beethoven's music: Schubert's sparkling Second Symphony, written whilst he was still in his teens, and Colin Matthews's Grand Barcarolle which takes as its starting point an imaginary slow movement to a Beethoven Symphony.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Violin Concerto n D, Op 61

    Performer: Simone Lamsma. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Violin Sonata in A, Op 30 No 1

    Performer: Renaud Capuçon. Performer: Frank Braley.
  • Colin Matthews

    Grand Barcarolle

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Juanjo Mena.
  • Franz Schubert

    Symphony No 2

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Juanjo Mena.
  • Mark-Anthony Turnage

    Slide Stride for piano and string quartet

    Performer: Nash Ensemble.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Philharmonic


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.