Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Royal Northern Sinfonia - Beethoven, Brahms

Lars Vogt conducts the Royal Northern Sinfonia at Sage Gateshead. Beethoven: Egmont Overture. Brahms: Violin Concerto (soloist: Alissa Margolis). Beethoven: Symphony No 6.

Live from Sage, Gateshead

Royal Northern Sinfonia, conducted by Lars Vogt, with a programme which embraces one of Beethoven's best-loved symphonies alongside a masterwork of the 19th century concerto repertoire.

Beethoven: Overture - Egmont

Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major (op 77)

8.25: interval music - recordings from tonight's conductor Lars Vogt in his role as a pianist

8.45: Beethoven: Symphony no 6, 'Pastoral'

Alissa Margulis (violin)
Royal Northern Sinfonia
Lars Vogt (conductor)

Branded 'unplayable' by early critics, Johannes Brahms' only violin concerto is a formidable exercise in virtuosity which - despite its enormous technical challenges - has become one of the most popular concertos in the repertoire. Beethoven's Sixth Symphony - a musical portrait of the Austrian countryside which Beethoven so loved - has long been admired for its gentle depiction of rural life, with babbling brooks, bird calls, a summer storm, and merry country folk. The concert begins with the overture Beethoven composed as incidental music to an 1810 production of a Goethe play.

Following the concert, 'BBC Singers at 90': in the week during which the BBC's professional choir celebrates its 90th anniversary, British composers introduce recordings of their music performed by the BBC Singers.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Bob Chilcott

    My Prayer

    Choir: BBC Singers. Conductor: Bob Chilcott.
  • Edward Cowie

    Bell Bird motet

    Choir: BBC Singers. Conductor: Stephen Cleobury.


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.