Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Steven Isserlis (cello), Connie Shih (piano), Matthew Hunt (clarinet) Escher Quartet in works from the year 1915, by Debussy, Bartok and Reger. From the 2012 Cheltenham Festival.

Continuing this week's theme of music written during the First World War, another chance to hear part of a live concert given at Cheltenham Music Festival in 2012, exploring music written in 1915.

Debussy: Cello sonata
Bartok: Romanian dances
Reger: Clarinet quintet

Steven Isserlis (cello)
Connie Shih (piano)
Matthew Hunt (clarinet)
Escher Quartet.

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Béla Bartók

    Romanian folk dances Sz.56

    Performer: Christian Ihle Hadland.
  • Claude Debussy

    Sonata in D minor for cello and piano

    Performer: Steven Isserlis. Performer: Connie Shih.
  • Max Reger

    Quintet in A major Op.146

    Performer: Matthew Hunt. Ensemble: Escher String Quartet.