Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Music for horn and piano, performed by Richard Watkins and Julius Drake at St Mary's Church, Hay-on-Wye. Included in the concert is Schumann's Adagio and Allegro in A flat major, Op 70, described by his wife Clara as "a magnificent piece, fresh and passionate; just what I like". Also performed is Poulenc's Elégie, written in 1957 to commemorate the death of the famous English horn-player Dennis Brain

Richard Watkins (horn)
Julius Drake (piano)

Ludwig van Beethoven: Horn Sonata in F, Op 17
Robert Schumann: Adagio and Allegro in A flat, Op 70
Franz Strauss: Nocturne, Op 7
Francis Poulenc: Elégie, H168
Camille Saint-Saëns: Morceau de concert in F minor, Op 94.

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Fri 20 Mar 2015 13:00