Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

The Philharmonia - Tchaikovsky, Dvorak

Live from the Royal Festival Hall, London, the Philharmonia under Yuri Temirkanov. Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No 1 (soloist: Denis Kozhukhin). Dvorak: New World Symphony.

Live from the Royal Festival Hall, London

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Yuri Temirkanov conducts Denis Kozhukhin and the Philharmonia in Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No.1 and Dvorák's New World Symphony.

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1 in B flat minor

8.20: Interval

Dvorák: Symphony No.9 in E minor, From the New World

Denis Kozhukhin, piano
The Philharmonia
Yuri Temirkanov, conductor

Yuri Temirkanov, a frequent visitor to London's Royal Festival Hall, conducts the Philharmonia in two of the most popular works in the repertoire: Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No.1 with the star young Russian pianist Denis Kozhukhin as soloist, and Dvorák's New World Symphony.
Written in 1893 to celebrate the 400th anniversary of Columbus's discovery of America, The New World Symphony explodes with American folk-inspired rhythms and melodies. However, Dvorák does not completely shun the infectious folk music of his native Bohemia, the influence of which can be heard throughout the symphony.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Philharmonia Orchestra part 1

    • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

      Concerto no. 1 in B flat minor Op.23 for piano and orchestra

      Conductor: Yuri Temirkanov. Performer: Denis Kozhukhin. Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra.
  • Philharmonia Orchestra part 2

    • Antonín Dvořák

      Symphony no. 9 in E minor Op.95 (From the New World)

      Conductor: Yuri Temirkanov. Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra.


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.