Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Live from Perth Concert Hall, the RLPO under Vasily Petrenko. Elgar: In the South (Alassio), Op 50. Stewart Copeland: Percussion Concerto. Prokofiev: Symphony No 6, Op 111.

Live from Perth concert Hall

Presented by Jamie MacDougall

The RLPO plays works by Elgar, Prokofiev and Stewart Copeland

Elgar: In the South 'Alassio', Op.50

Stewart Copeland: Percussion Concerto

20.05 Interval

20.25 Prokofiev: Symphony No 6, Op. 111

Vasily Petrenko (conductor)
Neil Hitt (timpani)
Adrian Spillett, Graham Johns and Henry Baldwin (percussion)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

The inspiration for Elgar's overture In the South came as he watched a shepherd walk amongst hillside ruins in the Italian Riviera during the winter of 1903. The sounds of soaring vistas and ancient military might were written despite Elgar's poor health and depression at the recent deaths of friends. Prokofiev's symphony No. 6, his elegy to the tragedies of war closes the evening, following the Scottish premiere of a new percussion concerto by former drummer of The Police, Stewart Copeland.

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.