Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Duchess Sophia Dorothea of Brunswick and Luneburg

Historian Lucy Worsley explores music and the wives of the Georgian kings, focusing on Duchess Sophia Dorothea of Brunswick and Luneburg.

Historian Lucy Worsley introduces the first of three programmes exploring music and the wives of the Georgian kings, today the Duchess Sophia Dorothea of Brunswick and Lüneburg.

The story of the wife of George I is a tragic tale of abuse and political intrigue. The woman who should have been Queen of Great Britain spent more than thirty years, a prisoner in a moated stately home in Northern Germany, and never set foot in the country.

Lucy Worsley recounts her story, juxtaposed with a selection of music linked or associated with the Duchess. Including music by JS Bach, Steffani and Handel.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Toccata and Fugue in D minor. BWV565.

    Performer: Ton Koopman.
  • Jean‐Baptiste Lully

    Chaconne d'Amadis

    Performer: Capriccio Stravagante. Performer: Skip Sempé.
    • ALPHA : 016.
    • ALPHA.
    • 21.
  • Antonio Cesti

    Orontea - "Intorno all'idol mio"

    Singer: Joyce DiDonato. Performer: Alan Curtis.
    • ERATO.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Orchestral Suite no 1 in C - Overture

    Orchestra: Freiburg Baroque.
  • Marc‐Antoine Charpentier

    Les Plaisirs de Versailles - scenes 1&2

    Performer: Les Arts Florissants. Performer: William Christie.
    • ERATO : 04774.
    • ERATO.
    • 4/5/6.
  • Agostino Steffani

    Niobe, regina di Tebe: T'abbraccio, mia Diva... Ti stringo, mio Nume

    Performer: Philippe Jarousky. Performer: Cecilia Bartoli.
  • Friedrich der Große

    Flute Concerto No3 in C

    Performer: Trevor Pinnock. Performer: Emmanuel Pahud. Orchestra: Kammerakademie Potsdam.
    • EMI.
  • Agostino Steffani

    Beatus Vir

    Orchestra: I Barocchisti. Conductor: Diego Fasolis. Choir: Coro della Radiotelevisione Svizzera.
    • DECCA.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Violin Partita in G minor - Adagio

    Performer: Julia Fischer.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Concerto Grosso No 7 in B flat Op6

    Performer: Avison Ensemble.
  • The Whistlebinkies

    Cam Ye O'er Frae France

  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Gott soll allein mein Herze haben, BWV 169.

    Singer: Christoph Genz. Singer: Katherine Fuge. Choir: Monteverdi Choir. Performer: English Baroque Soloists. Singer: Gotthold Schwarz. Singer: Nathalie Stutzmann.
    • SDG.