Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

The English Concert - Vivaldi, Pergolesi

Live from Sage Gateshead, Bernard Labadie conducts the English Concert with soloists Roberta Invernizzi and Sonia Prina in settings of the Stabat Mater by Vivaldi and Pergolesi.

Live in Concert
Presented by Tom Redmond

Bernard Labadie conducts The English Concert in sacred music by Vivaldi and Pergolesi, with soprano Roberta Invernizzi and mezzo-soprano Sonia Prina.

Vivaldi: Sinfonia "Al Santo Sepolcro"
Vivaldi: Stabat Mater

Interval: Settings of the Stabat Mater by Dvorak, Szymanowski and Poulenc

Pergolesi: Stabat Mater

Roberta Invernizzi (soprano)
Sonia Prina (mezzo)
The English Concert
Bernard Labadie (conductor)

Bernard Labadie and The English Concert visit Sage Gateshead for an exploration of one of the most moving and iconic sacred texts ever written. 'The Stabat Mater', attributed to Jacapone da Toni, portrays the mother of Christ as she stands at the foot of the cross which bears her crucified son. Vivaldi responded to the often unbearably moving words with sombre brilliance, and Pergolesi with music of acute intimacy and emotional directness which never fails to move.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Johannes Brahms

    6 Pieces Op.118 for piano - no.6 Intermezzo in E flat minor

    Performer: Guillaume Sigier.
  • Franz Liszt

    Transcendental Etudes Nos. 1 - 5

    Performer: Dinara Klinton.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Ma mere l'oye

    Performer: Guillaume Sigier. Performer: Dinara Klinton.


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.