Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

Berlin Philharmonic in Janacek: Glagolitic Mass. Janacek: The Wandering of a Little Soul. Wagner: A Faust Overture. Liszt: A Faust Symphony. Stravinsky: Orchestral Suite No 1.

Louise Fryer presents a week of recent performances by the Berlin Philharmonic beginning today with Janacek's Glagolitic Mass conducted by Sir Simon Rattle, the orchestra's current Principal Conductor and Artistic Director. Janacek's passionate outpouring of love for the natural world is follwed today by the darker world of Goethe's Faust, as seen by Wagner and then by Franz Liszt in his epic symphony.
Tomorrow afternoon, Sir Simon Rattle's predecessor, the late Claudio Abbado, conducts Mendelssohn's music from A Midsummer Night's Dream and Berlioz's Symphonie fantastique in what proved to be his last appearance with his former orchestra. On Wednesday there's a chance to catch the orchestra's celebration of the 50th anniversary of the opening of their hall, the Berlin Philharmonie, whilst on Thursday, Daniel Harding conducts a performance of Schumann's seldom-heard music for Goethe's Faust. And the week ends with Bach's St John Passion conducted by Sir Simon Rattle.

Glagolitic Mass
Christian Schmitt (organ),
Luba Organásová (soprano),
Mihoko Fujimura (mezzo-soprano),
Stuart Skelton (tenor),
Christian Gerhaher (baritone),
Czech Philharmonic Choir of Brno,
Berlin Philharmonic,
Sir Simon Rattle (conductor)

c. 2.40pm
The Wandering of a Little Soul [reconstructed and completed by Milos Stedron and Leos Faltus]
Thomas Zehetmair (violin),
Berlin Philharmonic, Alan Gilbert (conductor)

c. 2.55pm
A Faust Overture in D minor, WWV 59
Berlin Philharmonic, Riccardo Chailly (conductor)

c. 3.05pm
A Faust Symphony, S. 108 (1855)
Nikolai Schukoff (tenor),
Men's voices of the Berlin Radio Chorus,
Berlin Philharmonic, Riccardo Chailly (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 14 Apr 2014 14:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert

Music Played

  • Leos Janáček

    Violin concerto - Putovani dusicky "Pilgrimage of the soul" compl by Stedron & Faltus

    Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic. Conductor: Alan Gilbert.
  • Franz Liszt

    A Faust Symphony, S. 108 (1855)

    Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic. Conductor: Riccardo Chailly.
  • Richard Wagner

    A Faust Overture in D minor, WWV 59

    Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic. Conductor: Riccardo Chailly.
  • Leos Janáček

    Glagolitic mass

    Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle.