Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

The Necks

Jez Nelson presents a set performed by Australian trio The Necks at London's Cafe Oto. The line-up features Chris Abrahams (piano), Lloyd Swanton (bass) and Tony Buck (drums.

Jez Nelson presents the second of two sets by The Necks, recorded during their residency at London's Cafe Oto in November.

This Sydney-based trio often seems to elicit superlatives: unique according to The Wire, the New York Times has proclaimed them 'the best band in the world' and their distinctive brand of slowly-evolving, minimal groove has won them a cult following - no mean feat for an ensemble built mostly on improvisation.

Together now for 25 years, Chris Abrahams (piano) Lloyd Swanton (bass) and Tony Buck (drums) return once more to Cafe Oto and to Jazz on 3.

Presenter: Jez Nelson
Producer: Peggy Sutton.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 7 Apr 2014 23:00

Music Played

  • New and Forthcoming Releases

    • The Young Mothers


      Composer: Ingebrigt HÃ¥ker Flaten

      • A Mother's Work Is Never Done.
      • Tektite Records.
    • Monocled Man

      Big Wheeze

      Composer: Rory Simmons

      • Southern Drawl.
      • Whirlwind Recordings.
    • Vijay Iyer

      Mutation XI: Waves

      Composer: Vijay Iyer

      • Mutations.
      • ECM.
    • Erik Friedlander


      Composer: Erik Friedlander

      • Claws And Wings.
      • Skipstone Records.
    • Led Bib

      This Roofus

      Composer: Mark Holub

      • The People In Your Neighbourhood.
      • Cuneiform.
    • The Bad Plus

      The Rite of Spring, Pt. 1 "Adoration of the Earth": Games of the Two Rival Tribes / Procession of the Sage

      Composer: Stravinsky

      • The Rite Of Spring.
      • Sony Music Masterworks.
  • The Necks in concert at Cafe OTO, London on 5 November 2013

    • Line up: Chris Abrahams (piano); Lloyd Swanton (double bass); Tony Buck (drums)

      The music is entirely improvised

    • The Necks

      Ghost Net

      Composer: Chris Abrahams / Lloyd Swanton / Tony Buck

  • Polar Bear Preview

    • Polar Bear

      Be Free

      Composer: Sebastian Rochford

      • In Each And Every One.
      • The Leaf Label.


Jazz Now

Jazz Now

The new home of contemporary jazz on BBC Radio 3