Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Christian Poltera (cello), Christian Ihle Hadland (piano) in Sibelius: Malinconia. Trio Con Brio Copenhagen in Tuur: Fata Morgana. Olli Mustonen (piano) in Prokofiev: Sonata No 6.

Sean Rafferty inroduces the second of four programmes from the Belfast Music Society International Festival of Chamber Music, which takes place in the Great Hall at Queen's University. This year's theme is Music from Northern Lands. Christian Poltera and Christan Ihle Hadland begin with a short work for cello and piano, "Malinconia" (Melancholy) by Sibelius, written shortly after the death of the composer's youngest daughter. Erkki-Sven Tüür wrote his piece for piano trio, Fata Morgana, in 2002. This shimmering and alluring work based on a mirage is performed by Trio Con Brio Copenhagen. Finally, Olli Mustonen is the pianist in the first of Prokofiev's trilogy of war sonatas, No. 6, completed in 1940.

Sibelius: Malinconia, Op 20
Christian Poltera (cello), Christian Ihle Hadland (piano)

Tuur: Fata Morgana (2002)
Trio Con Brio Copenhagen
Johannes Soe Hansen (violin), Soo-Kyung Hong (cello), Jens Elvekjaer (piano)

Prokofiev: Sonata No. 6 in A minor, Op 82
Olli Mustonen (piano).

58 minutes