Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Takacs Quartet - Dvorak, Janacek

Takacs Quartet and Graham Mitchell (double bass) perform at Wigmore Hall, London. Dvorak: Quartet in F (American). Janacek: Quartet No 1 (Kreutzer Sonata). Dvorak: Quintet in G.

Dvorak's 'American' Quartet and Janacek's 'Kreutzer Sonata' performed by the Takacs Quartet live at London's Wigmore Hall

Presented by Louise Fryer

Part One
Dvorak: Quartet in F, Op 96 ('American')
Janacek: Quartet no 1 ('Kreutzer Sonata')

8.25 Interval
Grainger: Ramble on Love from Strauss's 'Der Rosenkavalier'
Piers Lane (piano)

8.45 Part Two
Dvorak: Quintet in G, Op 77

Takacs Quartet
Graham Mitchell (double-bass)

Wigmore Hall Associate Artists, the renowned Takacs Quartet, in a programme of fervently passionate, deeply personal works by Czech masters Antonin Dvorak and Leos Janacek.

While Dvorak's 'American' Quartet was written on retreat in Iowa, it is infused with the music of his homeland and speaks of a profound homesickness. Janacek's marital circumstances were mirrored in Tolstoy's novella 'The Kreutzer Sonata', and his quartet of 1923 is a vivid portrayal of the deep feelings the work stirred in him.

In the interval, we look forward to tomorrow evening's Live From The Met. As a taste of Richard Strauss's 'Der Rosenkavalier', Piers Lane plays, amongst other things, Percy Grainger's affectionate and dazzling paraphrase on themes from the opera.

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.