Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Kitty Whately, Mark Simpson, Lise Berthaud, Zhang Zho

Clemency Burton-Hill presents Kitty Whately (mezzo) performing Strauss, Mark Simpson (clarinet) in Schumann, Lise Berthaud (viola) in Brahms and Zhang Zho (piano) in Grieg.

Clemency Burton-Hill introduces recordings by the BBC's starry line-up of New Generation Artists, the young musicians Radio 3 believes will be the stars of the future. Today a chance to hear from three new recruits to the scheme: British mezzo Kitty Whately, French viola player Lise Berthaud and Chinese pianist Zhang Zuo. And clarinettist Mark Simpson, now in his second year as a NGA, plays Schumann.

Strauss: Allerseelen, Op 10 No 8
Kitty Whately (mezzo), Ghamal Kamis (piano)

Schumann: Fantasiestucke, Op 74
Mark Simpson (clarinet), Vikingur Olafsson (piano)

Brahms: Sonata in F minor, Op 120 No 1
Lise Berthaud (viola), Adam Laloum (piano)

Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor
Zhang Zuo (piano)
BBC Philharmonic
Conductor Alexander Bloch.

1 hour, 15 minutes

Music Played

  • Johannes Brahms

    Brahms - Sonata in F minor Op 120 No 1

    Performer: Lise Berthaud. Performer: Adam Laloum.
  • Edvard Grieg

    Grieg - Piano Concerto in A minor

    Performer: Zhang Zuo. Conductor: Alexander Bloch. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic.
  • Robert Schumann

    Schumann - Fantasiestucke Op 73

    Performer: Mark Simpson. Performer: Vikingur Olafsson.
  • Richard Strauss

    Strauss - Allerseelen Op 10 No 8

    Singer: Kitty Whately. Performer: Gamal Khamis.


Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Bringing young musicians on the threshold of international stardom to the world.