Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Rob Cowan - Ancient Rome

Rob Cowan explores music depicting ancient Rome, including Liszt, Beethoven, Barber and Handel. Plus a cantata by Kuhnau: Uns ist ein Kind Geboren and Dvorak's Sextet in A, Op 18.

Rob Cowan looks at music depicting Ancient Rome by composers including Liszt, Beethoven, Barber and Handel. He plays a seasonal baroque cantata by Johan Kuhnau, Uns ist ein Kind Geboren (Unto us a child is born) formerly attributed to J S Bach. He also begins a short season of string sextets with Dvorak's A Major work, Opus 18.

2 hours, 57 minutes

Last on

Sun 29 Dec 2013 09:00

Music Played

  • Hector Berlioz

    Roman Carnival Overture

    Orchestra: Boston Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Charles Munch.
    • Berlioz: Harold in Italy Overtures.
    • RCA.
  • Johann Kuhnau

    Uns ist ein Kind Geboren (Unto us a child is born) [formerly attributed to J S Bach as BWV 142]

    Ensemble: Alsfelder Vokalensemble. Conductor: Wolfgang Helbich. Singer: Dorothee Mields. Singer: Henning Voss. Singer: Henning Kaiser. Singer: Ralph Grobe.
    • Bach: Apocryhal Cantatas II.
    • CPO.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    String Quartet No. 1: Andante Cantabile 'Op. posth'

    Performer: Mstislav Leopoldovich Rostropovich. Ensemble: Members of the Berlin Philharmonic.
    • Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 2 etc..
    • Decca Eloquence.
  • Franz Schubert

    Wanderer Fantasy

    Performer: Sviatoslaw Richter.
    • Svjatoslav Richter: Mozart, Betthoven, Schubert, Schumann, Grieg.
    • EMI.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Coriolan Overture, Op. 62

    Orchestra: BERLIN PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA. Conductor: Rudolf Kempe.
    • Rudolf Kempe: Beethoven 5 Overtures, etc..
    • Testament.
  • Franz Liszt

    Cypresses of the Villa d'Este

    Performer: Alfred Brendel.
    • Liszt: Piano Works.
    • Philips.
  • Samuel Barber

    Antony and Cleopatra: Give me my robe

    Singer: Leontyne Price. Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Thomas Schippers.
    • Samuel Barber: Two Scenes from Anthony and Cleopatra.
    • Sony Classical.
  • Franz Liszt

    Lamento e Trionfo

    Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Constantin Silvestri.
    • Silvestri: Complete EMI Recordings.
    • EMI.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Julius Caesar: "Wenn ihr mir nicht Mitlied spendet"

    Singer: Lucia Popp. Orchestra: Munich Philharmonic. Conductor: Ferdinand Leitner.
    • Handel: Julius Caesar.
    • Orfeo.
  • Thomas Arne

    Harpsichord Sonata No. 3 in G

    Performer: Christopher Hogwood.
    • Arne: Eight Harpsichord Sonatas.
    • Decca Eloquence.
  • Antonín Dvořák

    String Sextet in A major, Op. 18 (B 80)

    Ensemble: Panocha Quartet. Performer: Josef Klusoň. Performer: Michal Kaňka.
    • Dvorak: Chamber Works.
    • Supraphon.
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso, op. 28

    Performer: Joshua Bell. Orchestra: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Andrew Litton.
    • Chausson: Poeme, etc..
    • Decca.
  • Fryderyk Chopin

    Waltz in A-Flat Major Op. 69 No. 1

    Performer: Marjan Kiepura.
    • Patria.


Folk on Sunday Morning – Sarah Walker introduces five outstanding tracks

Folk on Sunday Morning – Sarah Walker introduces five outstanding tracks

In Folk, Sarah Walker finds distinctive voices and a bridge twixt tradition and modernity

Ten reasons to love nostalgic music

Ten reasons to love nostalgic music

Sarah Walker introduces her light music choices – a weekly treat on Sunday Morning.

Ten Steps in to Jazz

Ten Steps in to Jazz

Sarah Walker invites you on the personal jazz journey she shares in Sunday Morning on R3.