Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Christian Ihle Hadland, Apollon Musagete Quartet

Christian Ihle Hadland (piano) in Borodin: Petite suite and Mozart: Piano Concerto No 16. Plus the Apollon Musagete Quartet in Lutoslawski: String Quartet.

Clemency Burton-Hill introduces recordings by the BBC's starry line-up of New Generation Artists, the young musicians Radio 3 believes will be the stars of the future. Today a chance to hear the Norwegian pianist Christian Ihle Hadland in an rarely-performed suite by Borodin, and with the BBC Symphony Orchestra. And, celebrating the 100th anniversary of the composer's birth, the Apollon Musagète Quartet perform Lutoslawski's String Quartet of 1964.

Borodin: Petite suite [1885]
Christian Ihle Hadland (piano)

Lutoslawski: String Quartet
Apollon Musagète Quartet

Mozart: Piano Concerto No 16 in D, K451
Christian Ihle Hadland (piano)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Andrew Gourlay.

1 hour, 15 minutes

Music Played

  • Alexander Borodin

    Borodin - Petite suite

    Performer: Christian Ihle Hadland.
  • Witold Lutosławski

    Lutoslawski - String Quartet

    Ensemble: Apollon Musagete Quartet.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Mozart - Piano Concerto No 16 in D K451

    Performer: Christian Ihle Hadland. Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Andrew Gourlay.


Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Bringing young musicians on the threshold of international stardom to the world.