Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Halle - Beethoven, Mozart, Strauss

Stuart Flinders is in the Royal Concert Hall in Nottingham with the Halle and conductor Markus Stenz for a concert of ground breaking works. A symphony by Beethoven and tone poems by Strauss, and the "Jeunehomme" concerto by Mozart, once described as Mozart's "Eroica", and performed tonight by the remarkable German pianist, Lars Vogt.

Live from the Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham

Presented by Stuart Flinders

Beethoven: Symphony No 1 in C
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 9 in E-flat major, K 271 (Jeunehomme)


Richard Strauss: Don Juan
Richard Strauss: Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks

Halle Orchestra
Lars Vogt, piano
Markus Stenz, conductor

Following the concert, a selection from the shortlist of the British Composer Awards, winners to be announced next week.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 27 Nov 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.