Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Quartet No 1

Members of Ensemble 360 perform at Snape Maltings in Suffolk. Britten: Three Divertimenti; String Quartet No 1 in D, Op 25. Shostakovich: Piano Quintet in G Minor, Op 57.

The final concert pairing the Britten Quartets with chamber music by composers he admired features works from the 1930s and 40s: Britten's 3 Divertimenti and Quartet No. 1 and Shostakovich's Piano Quintet. Presented live from Snape Maltings Concert Hall by Andrew McGregor.

In the interval, at about 11.40am, Suzy Klein talks composer Colin Matthews.

Britten: Three Divertimenti
Britten: String Quartet No 1 in D major, Op 25
Shostakovich: Piano Quintet in G Minor, Op 57
Ensemble 360
Benjamin Nabarro, violin
Claudia Ajmone-Marsan, violin
Krzysztof Chorzelski, viola
Gemma Rosefield, cello
Tim Horton, piano.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sun 24 Nov 2013 11:00

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Britten 100