Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Halle - Dvorak, Tchaikovsky, Debussy, Stravinsky

Halle/Eduardo Portal. Dvorak: Legends (excpts). Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme (Philip Higham: cello). Debussy: Prelude a l'apres-midi d'un faune. Stravinsky: Firebird.

The Hallé Orchestra, conducted by Eduardo Portal, performs works including by Dvorak and Debussy, Stravinsky's Firebird Suite and Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations with cellist Philip Higham.

Live from The Bridgewater Hall in Manchester
Presented by Stuart Flinders

Dvorak: Legends (selection)
Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme

8:20 Interval

Debussy: Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
Stravinsky: The Firebird Suite (1945)

Hallé Orchestra
Eduardo Portal (conductor)
Philip Higham (cello)

'It is a delightful piece, and the fresh, joyous and rich invention of the man is simply enviable', enthused Brahms after hearing Dvorák's wonderfully poetic Legends. Equally delightful is Tchaikovsky's tuneful tribute to the composers of the eighteenth century. His 'Rococo Variations' are performed by rising star of the cello, Philip Higham. Then for the exotic, erotic atmosphere of Debussy's Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune in which a faun dreams of two beautiful nymphs and wonders how best to savour the memory.
Glowingly orchestrated and replete with Stravinsky's characteristic rhythmic drive and sense of colour, The Firebird - a setting of a popular Russian fairy tale - established him as the major new voice in twentieth-century music.

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.