Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

CBSO - Wagner, Sibelius, Brahms

Andris Nelsons leads the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Wagner: Lohengring (Prelude to Act 1). Sibelius: Violin Concerto (soloist: Valeriy Sokolov). Brahms: Symphony No 4.

Tom Redmond, live from Birmingham's Symphony Hall, introduces music by Wagner, Sibelius and Brahms performed by violinist Valeriy Sokolov and the CBSO conducted by Andris Nelsons.


Wagner: Prelude to Act 1 Lohengrin
Sibelius: Violin Concerto (soloist: Valeriy Sokolov)
Brahms: Symphony No 4 in E minor.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Johannes Brahms

    Warum ist das Licht gegeben

    Choir: Rodolfus Choir.
  • Richard Strauss

    Der Abend

    Choir: Rodolfus Choir.


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.