Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Ades, Barry, Britten, Stravinsky

Live from Milton Court, London, Thomas Ades (piano), Anthony Marwood (violin), Matthew Hunt (clarinet) and Louise Hopkins (cello) play music by Ades, Britten, Barry and Stravinsky.

Live from Milton Court, London

Presented by Martin Handley
In the Milton Court Alumni Recital series, London's newest concert hall welcomes four distinguished former students of the Guildhall School of Music and Drama to perform music by one of their number - composer Thomas Adès - alongside works by Gerald Barry, Benjamin Britten and Igor Stravinsky. At the heart of the programme, the suite which Stravinsky made from his theatre-piece 'The Soldier's Tale' - the story of Joseph, a Russian soldier who sells his fiddle to the devil in return for earthly riches and meets a terrible end.

Britten: Suite for Violin and Piano
Gerald Barry: Low
Thomas Adès: Lieux retrouvés

8.15pm (interval music)

Stravinsky: Suite from The Soldier's Tale
Thomas Adès: Catch
Thomas Adès: Court Studies

Thomas Adès (piano)
Anthony Marwood (violin)
Matthew Hunt (clarinet)
Louise Hopkins (cello).

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.