Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Fete Quaqua Festival 2013

Jez Nelson presents a series of short sets from 2013 Fete Quaqua free improvisation festival at the Vortex jazz club in London.

Jez Nelson presents a series of short sets from the Fete Quaqua festival at the Vortex in London.
Quaqua is Latin for 'in every direction'; guitarist John Russell's annual celebration of free improvisation draws musicians from the UK and beyond to explore existing collaborations and one-off groupings. It's a music that's fresh and surprising every time ? and inevitably ephemeral. In the words of Irish pianist and Quaqua newbie Paul G Smyth, "it couldn't have been made by any of the individuals, it only sounds the way it does because of the people involved". This year's line up of 12 players includes the UK's Rachel Musson (sax), Alison Blunt (violin), Lawrence Casserley (electronics) and returning international artist Ute Wasserman (voice).

Presenter: Jez Nelson
Producers: Peggy Sutton and Chris Elcombe.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 21 Oct 2013 23:00

Music Played

  • New Release

    • Claudia Quintet

      September 24th: Interval Dig

      Composer: John Hollenbeck

      • September.
      • Cuneiform.
  • Alison Blunt Interview

    • Mozart

      Concerto in G for Violin and Orchestra

    • Kenny Wheeler

      Angel Song


      • Angel Song.
      • ECM.
    • Fete Quaqua Ensemble

      Last Page First [Excerpt]

  • Audrey Lauro interview

  • Fete Quaqua recorded at the Vortex, London on 20 August 2013

    • All Music Is Entirely Improvised

    • Line up: Alison Blunt (violin); Alice Eldridge (cello); Audrey Lauro (saxophone);

    • Rachel Musson (saxophone); Luc Houtkamp (saxophone/electronics); Lawrence Casserley (electronics);

    • Chris Burn (trumpet/piano); Paul G Smyth (piano); Ute Wassermann (voice);

    • John Russell (guitar); Adam Linson (bass/electronics); Ståle Liavik Solberg (drums/percussion)

    • Paul G Smyth, Audrey Lauro, Rachel Musson & Ståle Liavik Solberg

      From Somewhere

    • Lawrence Casserley and Luc Houtkamp explain their approach to electronics

    • Lawrence Casserley, Luc Houtkamp, Adam Linson, Chris Byrne & Ute Wassermann


    • Alison Blunt, John Russell & Alice Eldridge

      A Bit Before

  • New Release

    • Alexander Hawkins

      Take the A Train

      Composer: Billy Strayhorn

      • From Song Singular.
      • Babel.
  • Fete Quaqua recorded at the Vortex, London on 20 August 2013

    • Luc Houtkamp, Rachel Musson, Audrey Lauro, Paul G Smyth, Chris Burn, Adam Linson & Ståle Liavik Solberg

      Later Still

    • Paul G Smyth Interview

    • John Russell, Ute Wassermann, Alice Eldridge & Paul G Smyth

      From Somewhere Else

    • Fete Quaqua Ensemble [Full Line Up]

      Last Page Last

  • New Release

    • Shiver

      Blutey Shiny

      Composer: Chris Sharkey / Andy Champion / Joost Hendrickx

      • Shiver #1.
      • Self Release / Bandcamp.


Jazz Now

Jazz Now

The new home of contemporary jazz on BBC Radio 3