Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

London Conchord Ensemble - Brahms, Mozart, Weber, Britten

London Conchord Ensemble performs at Champs Hill, West Sussex. Mozart: Kegelstatt Trio, K498. Weber: Flute Trio. Britten: Temporal Variations (1936). Brahms: Clarinet Trio, Op 114.

Live from Champs Hill, West Sussex

Following their appearance in this year's Proms Chamber Music series at Cadogan Hall, acclaimed chamber group the London Conchord Ensemble return with a programme of music performed live from the Music Room at Champs Hill, West Sussex

Mozart: 'Kegelstatt' Trio, K498
Weber: Flute Trio

- Interval music -

Britten: Temporal Variations (1936)
Brahms: Clarinet Trio, Op 114

London Conchord Ensemble

Mozart's Trio for clarinet, viola and piano was the first work to be composed for this combination of instruments, and Mozart's publishers gave it its nickname (which means 'Skittle Alley') - playing to the idea that it was composed during a round of the game. Ending the programme, a 19th-century chamber masterwork for the clarinet by Brahms, and - in between - one of Weber's most attractive salon works together with a powerful work by Britten which today's performers describe as a 'nascent War Requiem - a piece of enormous scope and beauty'.

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.