Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Peter Donohoe - North Wales Festival (part 2)

Peter Donohoe (piano) performs at the 2013 North Wales International Music Festival. Berg: Sonata, Op 1. Schumann: Abegg Variations, Op 1. Brahms: Sonata No 1 in C, Op 1.

Live from the North Wales International Music Festival at St. Asaph Cathedral.
Peter Donohoe performs a programme of piano works all published as the composers' "Opus 1".

Tchaikovsky: Two pieces for piano, Op.1
Prokofiev: - Sonata No.1 in F minor, Op.1
Bartok: Rhapsody, Op.1

8.10 Interval

Berg: Sonata , Op.1
Schumann: Abegg Variations,Op.1
Brahms: Sonata No.1 in C major, Op.1

The tiny cathedral city of St. Asaph is home to the North Wales International Music Festival and venue for this evening's live piano recital from Peter Donohoe. All the works in his intriguing programme are linked by their appellation 'Opus 1'. As Peter himself points out, these pieces don't represent the composers' very earliest efforts but their first published music; their first forays into the professional world of composition.

Peter invites us to explore with him music that reveals the ambition and freshness of composers at the beginnings of their long and distinguished careers; full of youthful originality and containing fascinating hints of the mature artists they would become.

1 hour, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.