Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Philharmonic - Ravel, Turina, David Matthews (part 1)

Catherine Bott presents a concert in which Juanjo Mena conducts the BBC Philharmonic. Ravel: Une barque sur l'ocean. Turina: Canto a Sevilla (with Maria Espada: soprano).

Live from the BBC Philharmonic's home at MediaCity in Salford

Presented by Catherine Bott

The BBC Philharmonic, conducted by Juanjo Mena, performs Ravel's Une barque sur l'océan, Turina's Canto a Sevilla and Rapsodía sinfónica and David Matthews' A Vision of the Sea.

Ravel: 'Une barque sur l'océan
Turina: 'Canto a Sevilla' *

8:20 Interval

Turina: Rapsodía sinfónica
David Matthews: A Vision of the Sea

BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena (conductor)
María Espada (soprano) *
Martin Roscoe (piano)

This evening's concert begins and ends with two works inspired by the sea: Ravel's portrait of a fishing boat on the high seas, and David Matthews's A Vision of the Sea. Premiered by the BBC Philharmonic at this year's Proms, it was inspired by Shelley's poetry, the pull of the tide on the Kent coast and an evocation of sunrise. The BBC Philharmonic is joined by María Espada to perform Turina's Canto a Sevilla - his setting of poems by José Muñoz San Román. After the interval Martin Roscoe will be the piano soloist in another work in which Turina pays homage to his native Andalusia, his Rapsodía sinfónica.

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.