Main content

Erving Goffman - a special programme

Erving Goffman - Laurie Taylor presents a special programme on the work and influence of this groundbreaking Canadian sociologist. He's joined by Professor Gregory Smith, Dr Rachel Hurdley and Dr Susie Scott. Revised repeat.

Producer: Jayne Egerton

Available now

28 minutes

Gregory Smith

Professor of Sociology at the University of Salford



Find out more about Gregory Smith



Erving Goffman, an Intellectual Biography
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN-10: 0415355907
ISBN-13: 978-0415355902

Susie Scott

Reader in Sociology at the University of Sussex



Find out more about Dr Susie Scott



Total Institutions and Reinvented Identities
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
ISBN-10: 0230232019
ISBN-13: 978-0230232013

Rachel Hurdley

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow at Cardiff University School of Social Sciences



Find out more about Dr Rachel Hurdley



Home, Materiality, Memory and Belonging
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
ISBN-10: 0230230288
ISBN-13: 978-0230230286

Conference: Goffman and the Interaction Order: 30 years on

One Day Conference


Venue: Cardiff School of Social Sciences, Cardiff
Friday 27 September 2013 from 10:00 to 16:30


Keynote Speaker: Professor Randall Collins
Contributions from Professor Paul Atkinson, Professor Greg Smith, Dr Susie Scott




For more information please email or call 029 2087 4983

Ethnography Award

Thinking Allowed in association with the British Sociological Association announces a new annual award for a study that has made a significant contribution to ethnography: the in-depth analysis of the everyday life of a culture or sub-culture.


Are you involved in social science research and completing or will have completed an ethnography this year? The Award is open to any UK resident currently employed as a teacher or researcher or studying as a postgraduate in a UK institution of higher education.


An entry should be a completed ethnography, a qualitative research project which provides a detailed description of the practices of a group or culture. Any sole authored book or peer reviewed research article published during the calendar year of the award will be eligible.


The judges for the Award are Professor Dick Hobbs, Professor Henrietta Moore, Dr Louise Westmarland, Professor Bev Skeggs. The Chair is Professor Laurie Taylor. (Please do not contact any judges directly).



Find out more on how to participate


Download this programme

Download this programme

Subscribe to this programme or download individual episodes.