Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Monday - Sara Mohr-Pietsch

Sara Mohr-Pietsch presents Radio 3's classical breakfast show, featuring the Musical Map of Britain and listener requests. Email or text 83111.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Horn Concerto no.4 in E flat: Finale

    Performer: Barry Tuckwell, horn Performer: London Symphony Orchestra Performer: Peter Maag, conductor

    • DECCA 478 2659.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    Mazurka in C-sharp minor, Op.50 No.3

    Performer: Vladimir Horowitz, piano

    • SONY S2K 53468.
  • Morton Gould

    Pavanne - second movement: American symphonette no. 2

    Performer: New London Orchestra Performer: Ronald Corp, conductor

    • HYPERION CDA 67067.
  • Bob Chilcott

    Tallis Canon

    Performer: The Sixteen Performer: Harry Christophers, conductor

    • CORO COR 16111.
  • Frank Bridge

    Moonlight, from The Sea (orchestral suite: no.3)

    Performer: Janice Graham, leader Performer: BBC National Orchestra of Wales Performer: Richard Hickox, conductor

    • CHANDOS 10729(6).
  • Jean‐Philippe Rameau

    Les Indes Galantes Suites: Air vif

    Performer: Orchestra of the 18th Century Performer: Frans Bruggen

    • Philips 438 946-2.
  • Percy Grainger

    Shepherd's Hey (version for orchestra)

    Performer: BBC Philharmonic Performer: Richard Hickox, conductor

    • CHANDOS 10638.
  • Isaac Albéniz

    Iberia - book 2 for piano, no.3; Triana

    Performer: Stephen Hough (piano)

    • HYPERION CDA67565.
  • Joseph Haydn

    Fourth movement (Finale) from Quartet for strings in D major, Op.76`5

    Performer: Amadeus Quartet

    • DEUTSCHE GRAMMOPHON 425 867-2.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Et resurrexit from Mass in B minor, BWV.232

    Performer: Dunedin Consort & Players Performer: John Butt (director)

    • LINN CKD354.
  • Gioachino Rossini

    Introduction, Theme and Variations for oboe & orchestra

    Performer: Diego Dini Ciacci (oboe/director) Performer: Orchestra di Padova e del Veneto

    • CPO 777 715-2.
  • Franz Liszt

    Liebestraume; no.3 in A flat major from 3 notturnos for piano S.541

    Performer: Khatia Buniatishvili (piano)

    • SONY 88697766042.
  • John Baston

    Concerto No. 2 in D for descant recorder, strings and continuo

    Performer: Michala Petri (recorder) Performer: Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields Performer: Kenneth Sillito (conductor)

    • PHILIPS 411 056-2.
  • Emmanuel Chabrier


    Performer: Boston Symphony Orchestra Performer: Seiji Ozawa (conductor)

    • DG 4312592.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Süsse Stille, Sanfte Quelle HWV.205 (9 German Arias)

    Performer: Dorothea Röschmann (soprano) Performer: Akademie fur Alte Musik Berlin

    • HARMONIA MUNDI HMC 901689.
  • Arthur Sullivan

    Overture – The Yeoman of the Guard

    Performer: The Pro Arte Orchestra Performer: Sir Malcolm Sargent (conductor)

    • EMI CMS 7 64415 2.
  • Henryk Wieniawski

    Polonaise no. 1 in D major, Op.4 arranged for violin and piano

    Performer: James Ehnes (violin) Performer: Eduard Laurel (piano)

    • CBC MVCD1168.
  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Sinfonia RV.719 for string and continuo in C (L'Incoronazione di Dario)

    Performer: La Serenissima Performer: Adrian Chandler (violin /director)

    • AV2287.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ BWV.639 (arranged Busoni)

    Performer: Simone Dinnerstein (piano)

    • SONY 88697727282.
  • Ronald Binge

    Elizabethan Serenade

    Performer: Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra Performer: Ernest Tomlinson (conductor)

    • NAXOS 8.553515.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Finale (third movement) from Concerto in E minor

    Performer: Ray Chen (violin) Performer: Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra Performer: Daniel Harding (conductor)

    • SONY88697984102.
  • Thomas Morley

    Nolo mortem peccatoris

    Performer: Stile Antico

    • HARMONIA MUNDI HMU 807572.
  • Franz Schubert

    Allegro Assai (final movement) String Quartet in G major, D.887

    Performer: Takacs Quartet

    • DECCA 452 854-2.
  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Prelude in C-sharp minor, Op.3 No.2 (orchestrated Sir Henry Wood)

    Performer: London Philharmonic Orchestra Performer: Nicholas Braithwaite (conductor)

    • LYRITA SRCD.216.


Five simple steps for morning mindfulness

Five simple steps for morning mindfulness

How listening to R3 Breakfast can reduce stress, aid mindfulness and cure morning breath.

Chilled – five great Russian winter pieces you’ve mostly never heard of …

Chilled –  five great Russian winter pieces you’ve mostly never heard of …

The BBC's Steve Rosenberg (a handy pianist) chips the ice off favourite classical scores.

Get singing: The Pankhurst Anthem

Get singing: The Pankhurst Anthem

We're inviting singers to mark 100 years of UK women's suffrage with a new choral work.

Sounds of the Earth

Sounds of the Earth

In this Weekend Breakfast feature, we hear the natural world in its many guises.