Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Live from the National Gallery

Sean Rafferty presents a special programme from the National Gallery's new exhibition Vermeer and Music. With music from the Academy of Ancient Music and guitarist Craig Ogden.

Sean Rafferty presents a special edition of In Tune live from The National Gallery in London to coincide with their new exhibition Vermeer and Music: The Art of Love and Leisure. Sean is joined by art critic Brian Sewell, author of Girl With a Pearl Earring Tracy Chevalier and curator Betsy Wieseman to discover some of the highlights of the exhibition, including Vermeer's masterpiece Guitar Player. There will be specially chosen live music from the Academy of Ancient Music and guitarist Craig Ogden to bring the musical world of Vermeer to life.

2 hours

Music Played

  • John Bull

    Fantasia on a theme by Sweelinck MB.14.4 for keyboard

    Performer: Julian Perkins

  • Interview: Brian Sewell

  • Henry Purcell

    The Blessed Virgin's expostulation Z.196 for voice and continuo

    Performer: David Miller Performer: Elin Manahan Thomas

    • CORO.
    • COR-16081.
  • Vermeer feature: Allegory and attribute

  • Interview: Craig Ogden

  • Gaspar Sanz

    Suite espanola for guitar compiled Yepes

    Performer: Craig Ogden

  • Interview: Brian Sewell

  • Constantijn Huygens

    Aubade: Le reveil de Calliste

    Performer: Carole Cerasi Performer: Julia Gooding

    • METCD 1051.
  • Vermeer feature: Music lessons and amorous duets

  • Interview: Rachel Brown and Julian Perkins

  • Jacob van Eyck

    Variations on Dowland's Pavanne

    Performer: Julian Perkins Performer: Rachel Brown

  • John Dowland

    Pavanne on tenor recorder

    Performer: Rachel Brown

  • Vermeer feature: Solo musicians

  • Interview: Craig Ogden

  • Robert de Visée

    Suite no. 9 in D minor for guitar

    Performer: Craig Ogden

  • Tracy Emin on Cultural Exchange

  • John Dowland

    Unquiet thoughts [1597]

    Performer: Ben Johnson Performer: Jakob Lindberg

  • Johannes Schenck

    Sonata in A minor Op.9`2 for viola da gamba and continuo [L'Echo du Danube, 1706]

    Performer: Capriccio Stravagante

    • AUVIDIS.
    • E-8566.
  • Carolus Hacquart

    Prelude for solo viol in D minor

    Performer: Reiko Ichise

  • Interview: Tracy Chevalier

  • Nicolas Vallet

    Prelude for lute

    Performer: Anthony Bailes

    • EMI.
    • 763 420 2.
  • Vermeer feature: Musical companies

  • Interview: Tracy Chevalier

  • Interview: Reiko Ichise

  • Johannes Schenk

    Almande, Courant, Sarabande and Gigue from Tyde en Konst - Oeffeningen

    Performer: Julian Perkins Performer: Reiko Ichise


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios