Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available


With Penny Gore. William Mathias: Anniversary Dances. Daniel Jones: Cello Concerto. Beethoven: Symphony No 4. Piazzolla: Libertango. Maxwell Davies: Symphony No 1.

As part of Radio 3's continuing celebration of British music, Penny Gore presents a concert by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and a major British symphony - the first of what has become a significant symphonic cycle composed by Peter Maxwell Davies, with the composer himself conducting the BBC Philharmonic. Plus Beethoven and Astor Piazzolla.

William Mathias: Anniversary Dances
Daniel Jones: Cello Concerto
Paul Watkins (cello)
Beethoven: Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60
BBC National Orchestra of Wales,
Andrew Gourlay (conductor).

Piazzolla (arr. Lenehan): Libertango
Ksenija Sidorova (accordion),
BBC National Orchestra of Wales,
Clark Rundell (conductor).

Peter Maxwell Davies: Symphony no. 1
BBC Philharmonic,
Peter Maxwell Davies (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Gioachino Rossini

    Qu'entends-je? Amour, viens rendre à mon âme - Orphée et Eurydice

  • William Mathias

    Anniversary dances Op.95

  • Daniel Jones

    Concerto for cello and orchestra

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Symphony no. 4 in B flat major Op.60

  • Astor Piazzolla

    Oblivion (arr. Lenehan)

  • Peter Maxwell Davies

    Symphony no. 1

  • Edward Cowie

    Lyre bird motet for chorus