Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Simon Heffer celebrates music from the British Isles. With Granville Bantock, William Sterndale-Bennett, Grainger, Elgar, Lennox Berkeley, William Busch, Bliss and Cyril Rootham.

Celebrating British Music.

Journalist Simon Heffer presents the second of four programmes of his personal choices of music from the British Isles - some familiar, some not so well known. This programme includes works by Granville Bantock, William Sterndale-Bennett, Percy Grainger, Edward Elgar, Lennox Berkeley, William Busch, Arthur Bliss and Cyril Rootham.

2 hours

Music Played

  • William Sterndale Bennett

    The May queen - pastoral cantata Op.39 for choir and orchestra: Overture

    Conductor: Nicholas Braithwaite Performer: London Symphony Orchestra

    • LYRITA SRCD206.
  • Edward Elgar

    Concerto in B minor Op.61 for violin and orchestra: 1st movement; Allegro

    Conductor: Henry Wood Performer: Albert Sammons Performer: New Queen's Hall Orchestra

    • PEARL GEMM GEM 0050.
  • Lennox Berkeley

    Symphony no. 1 in C major Op.16: 1st movement; Allegro moderato

    Conductor: Norman Del Mar Performer: London Philharmonic Orchestra

    • CHANDOS 9981.
  • Percy Grainger

    Mock morris vers. for piano

    Performer: Martin Jones

    • NIMBUS NI-5220.
  • Percy Grainger

    Country gardens vers. piano solo

    Performer: Martin Jones

    • NIMBUS NI-5244.
  • William Busch

    Concerto for cello and orchestra: III Molto vivace con brio

    Conductor: Vernon Handley Performer: Raphael Wallfisch Performer: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

    • LYRITA SRCD.320.
  • Granville Bantock

    Russian scenes for orchestra

    Conductor: Barry Wordsworth Performer: London Philharmonic Orchestra

    • NAXOS 8.555773.
  • Arthur Bliss

    Sonata for piano

    Performer: Peter Donohoe

    • NAXOS.
    • NAXOS 8.557146.
  • Cyril Rootham

    For the fallen for chorus and orchestra

    Conductor: Richard Hickox Performer: Northern Sinfonia Chorus Performer: Northern Sinfonia

    • EMI CDC7 49021 2.