Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 4

Katie Derham celebrates Britten's centenary. McCabe: Symphony No 4. Britten: Diversions; Phaedra. Mozart: Symphony No 31. Panufnik: Katyn Epitaph. Dvorak: Symphony No 7 in D minor.

Katie Derham makes a lightning fast tour around four of the BBC's Orchestras - from Ulster, Wales, Scotland and England - to conclude her week celebrating the music of Benjamin Britten in his centenary year, and launching a month-long series of British symphonies in Afternoon on 3.

Every Friday in June Afternoon on 3 will feature a symphony by a living British composer: today it's John McCabe. You can hear two works by Britten, plus music by his Polish-born contemporary Andrzej Panufnik, Mozart and Dvorak.

John McCabe: Symphony No. 4 (Of Time and the River)
BBC Symphony Orchestra,
Vernon Handley (conductor).

Britten: Diversions for piano left hand and orchestra
Mozart: Symphony No. 31 in D major, K.297 (Paris)
Finghin Collins (piano),
Ulster Orchestra,
Alan Buribayev (conductor).

Panufnik: Katyn Epitaph
BBC National Orchestra of Wales,
Tadaaki Otaka (conductor).

Britten: Phaedra
Ruby Hughes (soprano),
BBC National Orchestra of Wales,
Thomas Sondergard (conductor).

Dvorak: Symphony no. 7 in D minor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Joshua Weilerstein (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 7 Jun 2013 14:00

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert

Music Played

  • John McCabe

    Symphony (Of time and the river)

  • Benjamin Britten

    Diversions Op.21 for piano [left hand] and orchestra

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Symphony no. 31 in D major K.297 (Paris)

  • Andrzej Panufnik

    Katyn epitaph for orchestra [rev.1969]

  • Benjamin Britten

    Phaedra - cantata Op.93

  • Antonín Dvořák

    Symphony no. 7 in D minor Op.70