Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 3

With Katie Derham. Britten: Piano Concerto (soloist: Howard Shelley); Rejoice in the Lamb (with the BBC Singers). Plus the BBC Symphony Orchestra in Tippett: Symphony No 4.

Katie Derham presents a week celebrating the music of Benjamin Britten in his centenary year and launching a month-long series of British symphonies in Afternoon on 3.

Britten: Piano Concerto (original version)
Howard Shelley (piano),
BBC Philharmonic,
Edward Gardner (conductor).

Britten: Rejoice in the Lamb
Micaela Haslam (soprano)
Cherith Millburn-Fryer (mezzo-soprano)
Christopher Bowen (tenor)
Michael Bundy (bass)
Stephen Farr (organ)
BBC Singers,
David Hill (conductor).

Tippett: Symphony No. 4
BBC Symphony Orchestra,
Michael Tippett (conductor).

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Benjamin Britten

    Piano Concerto Op.13 with original 3rd mvt.

  • Benjamin Britten

    Rejoice in the Lamb Op.30 for chorus and organ

  • Michael Tippett

    Symphony no. 4