Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Presented by Penny Gore. The BBC Symphony Orchestra performs music by Beethoven and Dvorak. Plus the BBC Singers in works by William Mathias, Julian Philips and Michael Finnissy.

This week Afternoon on 3 features the BBC Symphony Orchestra and BBC Singers.

The BBC SO make a particular feature of music by Beethoven and Dvorak, and tomorrow you can hear the concert they gave on Saturday at the Barbican in London, featuring Mahler and Shostakovich. Today's selection includes studio performances of two popular concertos - Beethoven's Piano Concerto no. 3, and Dvorak's Violin Concerto - along with Beethoven's 7th Symphony.

And throughout the week the BBC Singers perform music by late twentieth and early twenty-first century British composers, with a particular focus on the Welsh composer William Mathias, and on a new Choirbook for the Queen - contemporary anthems written to celebrate the Queens' Diamond Jubilee last year.

Presented by Penny Gore.

Beethoven: Coriolan Overture; Piano Concerto no. 3 in C minor, Op. 37
Christian Ihle Hadland (piano),
BBC Symphony Orchestra,
Andrew Gourlay (conductor).

William Mathias: A May Magnificat, Op. 79 no. 2
BBC Singers,
Joe Cooper (glockenspiel),
Stephen Cleobury (conductor).

Dvorak: Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 53
Tai Murray (violin),
BBC Symphony Orchestra,
Jiri Belohlavek (conductor).

Choirbook for the Queen:
*Julian Philips: Church music
[soprano solo: Jennifer Adams-Barbaro; mezzo-soprano solo: Jacqueline Fox]
Michael Finnissy: Sincerity
BBC Singers,
*with Stephen Disley (organ),
Stephen Cleobury (conductor).

Beethoven: Symphony no. 7 in A major, Op. 92
BBC Symphony Orchestra,
Kazuki Yamada (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 27 May 2013 14:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert

Music Played

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Coriolan Overture

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Piano Concerto no. 3 in C minor, Op.37

  • William Mathias

    A May Magnificat, Op.79'2

  • Antonín Dvořák

    Violin Concerto in A minor, Op.53

  • Julian Philips

    Church Music

  • Michael Finnissy


  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Symphony no.7 in A major, Op.92