Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

Music played by the BBC Philharmonic. Mendelssohn: Overture (A Midsummer Night's Dream). Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 2. Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique. Schumann: Piano Concerto.

With Katie Derham.

The BBC Philharmonic returned a couple of weeks ago from Japan, a tour with many of the concerts sold out within hours of going on sale.

We begin our week of Afternoons joining them and Japanese conductor Yutaka Sado at one of their concerts there with music by Mendelssohn and Berlioz; and prizewinning soloist Nobuyuki Tsujii plays Rachmaninov's ever-popular Second Piano Concerto.

You can also hear a performance of Schumann from an earlier visit the orchestra made to Tokyo, this time with conductor Gianandrea Noseda. At Opera City, a concert hall under a spectacular spire-like roof, Schumann's Piano Concerto is played by Ayako Uehara - another prizewinning performer, this time from the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow.

Mendelssohn: Overture, A Midsummer Night's Dream
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 2
Nobuyuki Tsujii (piano)
Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique
BBC Philharmonic,
Yutaka Sado (conductor).

Schumann: Piano Concerto
Ayako Uehara (piano),
BBC Philharmonic,
Gianandrea Noseda (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 13 May 2013 14:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert

Music Played

  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Overture to 'A Midsummer night's dream'

  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Concerto no. 2 in C minor Op.18

  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Prelude no.12 in G sharp minor, from 13 Preludes Op.32

  • Hector Berlioz

    Symphonie fantastique Op.14

  • Robert Schumann

    Concerto in A minor Op.54

  • Anatoly Konstantinovich Lyadov

    Baba-Yaga - symphonic poem Op.56