Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Two seventh symphonies, written nearly 150 years apart, frame a piano concerto in all but name, and Haydn's Mass for troubled times, nicknamed the Nelson Mass.

Presented by Penny Gore

A week of programmes featuring the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra comes to an end with two seventh symphonies, written nearly 150 years apart. They frame a concerto by Shostakovich - a piano concerto in all but name - and Haydn's "Mass for troubled times" which illustrates the rather different reaction of its composer to the advance of Napoleon than the Eroica Symphony we heard on Tuesday.
In 1945 Hartmann was one of the few creative people in Bavaria unblemished by association with the Nazi regime and was instrumental in rebuilding cultural life. He founded the Musica Viva concert series which championed music by young, hitherto unknown composers. The Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra continues the series to this day, and a recent concert included this performance of Hartmann's Seventh Symphony.

Beethoven Symphony No.7 in A, Op.92
Bavarian RSO, Mariss Jansons (conductor)

Shostakovich Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and Orchestra No. 1 in C minor, Op.35
Yefim Bronfman, piano
Hannes Läubin, trumpet
Bavarian RSO, Mariss Jansons (conductor)

Haydn Mass No. 11 in D minor, Hob. XXII/11 ('Nelson Mass')
Julia Kleiter, soprano
Katija Dragojevic, mezzo-soprano
Mark Padmore, tenor
Gerald Finley, bass-baritone
Bavarian Radio Chorus
Bavarian RSO, Andris Nelsons (conductor)

Hartmann Symphony No. 7 (1958)
Bavarian RSO, Emilio Pomarico (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 10 May 2013 14:00