Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Cello Sonata No 1, Piano Quartet No 1

Renaud Capucon (violin), Gerard Causse (viola), Gautier Capucon (cello), Nicholas Angelich (piano) and Michel Dalberto (piano) in Faure: Cello Sonata No 1; Piano Quartet No 1.

Live from Wigmore Hall, London
Presented by Martin Handley

Violinist Renaud Capuçon is joined by an ensemble including his brother Gautier on cello, in a concert from Wigmore Hall's Fauré Project, a programme of chamber music which spans the composer's long career.

Gabriel Fauré:
Cello Sonata No. 1 in D minor Op. 109
Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor Op. 15

Renaud Capuçon (violin)
Gérard Caussé (viola)
Gautier Capuçon (cello)
Nicholas Angelich (piano)
Michel Dalberto (piano)

Over the past decade, the Capuçon brothers have become known for their individual approach to chamber music, a style described by the critic of The Telegraph as an 'unfashionably big luxurious tone'. For Renaud Capuçon, individuality in music is everything: he has said "When you listen to those old recordings of great violinists you hear that they use their right arm a lot as a way of expression, where currently many young violinists are using the left hand instead, which makes their play less personal. Hearing this new generation on for instance the radio you don't recognise them."

The Wigmore Hall's Fauré Project explores a composer whose lifetime saw huge changes in musical language, but whose own musical voice remained constant and distinctive. His innovative approach to harmony and fresh treatment of melody can be heard in his youthful First Piano Quartet, which dates from the 1870s. He composed his sublime Piano Trio in D minor in 1923, the year before he died at the age of 79.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Faure, Live from the Wigmore Hall part 1

    • Gabriel Fauré

      Sonata no. 2 in E minor Op.108 for violin and piano

      Performer: Nicholas Angelich Performer: Renaud Capucon

    • Gabriel Fauré

      Trio in D minor Op.120 for piano and strings

      Performer: Gautier Capucon Performer: Nicholas Angelich Performer: Renaud Capucon

  • Faure, Live from the Wigmore Hall part 2

    • Gabriel Fauré

      Sonata no. 1 in D minor Op.109 for cello and piano

      Performer: Gautier Capucon Performer: Michel Dalberto

    • Gabriel Fauré

      Quartet no. 1 in C minor Op.15 for piano and strings

      Performer: Gautier Capucon Performer: Gerard Causse Performer: Michel Dalberto Performer: Renaud Capucon


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.