Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Jonathan Lloyd, Brahms

Andrew Davis conducts BBC Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican in London. Jonathan Lloyd: Old Racket (world premiere). Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1 (soloist: Stephen Hough).

Sir Andrew Davis continues the BBC Symphony Orchestra's Tippett Cycle with the Second Symphony and Stephen Hough is the soloist in Brahms's 1st Piano Concerto. The programme opens with a World Premiere of Jonathan Lloyd's Old Racket for strings.

Live from the Barbican Centre, London

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Jonathan Lloyd: Old Racket (World Premiere)
Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Stephen Hough (piano)
Sir Andrew Davis (conductor)

Jonathan Lloyd's RPS commission Old Racket is a new work for strings and a companion piece to New Balls for wind and brass, which will receive its world premiere later in the BBC Symphony Orchestra's current season. Sir Andrew Davis is then joined by the BBCSO's Artist in Focus, Stephen Hough, to perform Brahms's tumultuous First Piano Concerto. Hough has written of the 'burst of utter, natural, divine genius' that propels this concerto, 'its flame flares with such intensity, and such promise of more to come, that I find myself overwhelmed by it.' This will be followed by the presentation by Sir Andrew of the prestigious Leslie Boosey Award for outstanding contribution to the furthering of contemporary music in Britain to the music publisher Sally Groves. As part of the BBCSO's Tippett retrospective, the concert concludes with his fourth and final symphony, which follows a life-cycle from birth to death in a single movement, complete with breathing effects; an astonishing example of the imaginative vitality of the composer's late years.

1 hour

Last on

Fri 12 Apr 2013 19:30


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.