Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 4

Featuring the BBC Philharmonic. Beethoven: Piano Concerto No 1. MacMillan: The Sacrifice (excpts). Britten: Serenade. Bernstein: On the Town (excpts). Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto.

Presented by Jonathan Swain.

In the second of two recent concerts given at the Konzerthaus in Vienna, the BBC Philharmonic and their Composer/Conductor H. K. Gruber play music by James MacMillan, centenary composer Benjamin Britten, Leonard Bernstein and Gruber himself.

To take us to Vienna, Martin Roscoe joins the BBC Philharmonic in Beethoven's First Piano Concerto. And the programme ends with another well-loved concerto, by Mendelssohn.

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15
Martin Roscoe (piano),
BBC Philharmonic,
Andrew Gourlay (conductor).

MacMillan: 3 Interludes from the opera The Sacrifice
BBC Philharmonic,
H. K. Gruber (conductor).

Britten: Serenade for tenor, horn and strings
Ian Bostridge (tenor),
Stefan Dohr (horn),
BBC Philharmonic,
H. K. Gruber (conductor).

Bernstein: Overture and 3 Dance Episodes from On The Town
H. K. Gruber: Dancing in the Dark

Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
Augustin Hadelich (violin),
BBC Philharmonic,
Yan Pascal Tortelier (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 12 Apr 2013 14:00

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert

Music Played

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Concerto no. 1 in C major Op.15 for piano and orchestra

  • Sir James MacMillan

    The Sacrifice: 3 interludes from the opera for orchestra

  • Benjamin Britten

    Serenade Op.31 for tenor, horn and string orchestra

  • Leonard Bernstein

    Overture and 3 Dance episodes from 'On the town'

  • HK Gruber

    Dancing in the dark

  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Concerto in E minor Op.64 for violin and orchestra