Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Steven Mackey, Christopher Rouse

Robert Worby presnts two orchestral works by American composers: America, a 20-minute symphony by Baltimore-based composer Christopher Rouse, and Dreamhouse, by Steven Mackey.

Robert Worby introduces a pair of orchestral works from America: a twenty minute symphony by the Baltimore-based composer Christopher Rouse, and Steven Mackey's Dreamhouse, a large-scale theatrical work for solo tenor, vocal quartet, electric guitar quartet and orchestra, with words by Mackey and Rinde Eckert.

Christopher Rouse: Symphony No.2
BBC Philharmonic
Clark Rundell (conductor)

Steven Mackey: Dreamhouse

Rinde Eckert (singer)
Synergy Vocals
Catch Electric Guitar Quartet
Jason Treuting (percussion)
BBC Philharmonic
Steven Mackey (conductor).

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Christopher Rouse

    Symphony No.2 (UK premiere)

    Performers: BBC Philharmonic, Clark Rundell (conductor)

  • Steven Mackey

    Dreamhouse (UK premiere)

    Performers: Rinde Eckert (singer, Synergy Vocals, Catch Electric Guitar Quartet, Jason Treuting (percussion), BBC Philharmonic, Steven Mackey (conductor)


Sound of the Week

Sound of the Week

Composers reveal the sounds that have captured their imaginations and inspired new music.

Stockhausen’s Gruppen – What’s the Big Deal?

Stockhausen’s Gruppen – What’s the Big Deal?

A user-friendly guide to a masterpiece of music’s post-War avant-garde.

Pioneering Sound

Pioneering Sound

Listen to Radio 3 broadcasts which break technological boundaries in sound.