Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

In a live concert from Champs Hill, Sussex, the London Bridge Ensemble performs Dvorak's Piano Quartet No 1 in D, before Daniel Tong plays Janacek's Piano Sonata 1 X 1905.

Live from Champs Hill, Sussex The London Bridge Ensemble performs Dvorak's two Piano Quartets.
In the years between writing the first of these chamber works in 1875 and the second, some fifteen years later, Dvorak had become a celebrity composer, feted both at home and in particular in England. Tonight's concert from this distinguished British Ensemble gives us a chance to witness Dvorak's musical and emotional journey. And between these two chamber works a rare outing for a piano work by Janacek written in 1905 which was once thought destroyed. A copy of the work miraculously re-appeared and received its performance on Janacek's seventieth birthday in 1924 when he appended a note to the score: "[.....] He came merely to champion higher learning and has been slain by cruel murderers."
Presented by Christopher Cook

Dvorak: Piano Quartet no. 1 in D major, op. 23 London Bridge Ensemble

Janacek: Piano Sonata 1. X. 1905, 'From the Street'
Daniel Tong (piano).

40 minutes

Last on

Fri 5 Apr 2013 19:30

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Radio 3 Live in Concert


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.