Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Louise Fryer presents Russian repertoire and Baroque music for Holy Week, including Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No 1, Schein's Ich will schweigenand and Scriabin's Symphony No 2.

Louise Fryer presents a week of programmes featuring the BBC Symphony Orchestra and BBC Singers in Russian repertoire and music for Holy Week. As part of Radio 3's Baroque Spring, the BBC Singers perform motets by J S Bach and his predecessors and successors in the post of Cantor at St Thomas's Church in Leipzig. The BBC Symphony play pieces by Prokofiev and his Russian forefathers and contemporaries.

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto no. 1 in D flat major, Op.10
Nikolai Lugansky (piano),
Conductor Jiri Belohlavek.

J H Schein: Ich will schweigen; Alleluja - Wohl dem, der den Heeren f├╝rchtet
BBC Singers,
Conductor David Hill,
Stephen Farr (organ).

Scriabin: Symphony no. 2 in C minor, Op. 29
Conductor Vassily Sinaisky.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Sergei Prokofiev

    Concerto no. 1 in D flat major Op.10 for piano and orchestra

  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Prelude in G sharp minor Op.32 no. 12

  • Johann Hermann Schein

    Ich will schweigen for 6 voices and continuo

  • Johann Hermann Schein

    Alleluia: Wohl dem, der den Herren furchtet for 8 voices

  • Alexander Scriabin

    Symphony no. 2 in C minor Op.29

  • Edward Elgar

    The Wild Bears from The Wand of youth - suite no. 2 Op.1b