Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Louise Fryer presents Russian repertoire and music for Holy Week. With the BBC Symphony Orchestra playing MacMillan, Gubaidulina and De Sabata live. Plus Calvisius and Prokofiev.

Louise Fryer presents a week of programmes featuring the BBC Symphony Orchestra and BBC Singers in Russian repertoire and music for Holy Week. As part of Radio 3's Baroque Spring, the BBC Singers perform motets by J S Bach and his predecessors and successors in the post of Cantor at St Thomas's Church in Leipzig. The BBC Symphony play pieces by Prokofiev and his Russian forefathers and contemporaries.

Today's programme starts with a live concert by the BBC Symphony Orchestra from their London home at the BBC's Maida Vale studios. Martyn Brabbins conducts a special Holy Week selection of music by two living composers - Scotsman James MacMillan and Russian Sofia Gubaidulina - together with a rarely heard Easter-inspired symphonic poem by the famous Italian conductor (and composer) Victor De Sabata.

Plus the BBC Singers with music by one of J S Bach's Leipzig predecessors, and a Prokofiev Symphony performed a couple of weeks ago by the BBC SO.

James MacMillan: Exsultet
Gubaidulina: Seven Words
with James Crabb (bayan) and David Cohen (cello)
Victor de Sabata: Gethsemani
Conductor Martyn Brabbins.

Sethus Calvisius: Unser leben währet siebzig Jahr; Zion spricht: Der Herr hat mich verlassen
BBC Singers,
Conductor David Hill,
Stephen Farr (organ).

Prokofiev: Symphony no. 7 in C sharp minor, Op. 131
Conductor Alan Buribayev.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Sethus Calvisius

    Unser leben wahret siebzig Jahr for 16 voices

  • Sethus Calvisius

    Zion spricht: Der Herr hat mich verlassen for 16 voices

  • Akhmet Zhubanov

    Wedding Dances from the opera"Abai"

  • Sergei Prokofiev

    Symphony no. 7 in C sharp minor Op.131

  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Romance from The Gadfly Op.97